Cookie Sticks…or Squares

sticks

Prep time: 20 min.

Bake time: 6-8 min.

Makes ~18 sticks (I ended up cutting mine into small squares)

(Recipe & play-by-play)

 

Recipe from My Baking Addiction

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup canola oil
  • 1/4 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1-1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter chips (I used butterscotch chips because Safeway sadly didn’t have peanut butter)
  • 1/2 cup semisweet chocolate chips

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 375° F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

2. In a large bowl, combine the oil, peanut butter, sugars, egg and vanilla. In another bowl, combine the flour, baking soda and salt. Gradually add the dry ingredients to the sugar mixture and mix until well combined. Fold in the peanut butter chips and divide dough in half.

3. On the prepared baking sheet, shape each portion into a 15-in. x 3-in. rectangle about 3 in. apart. Sprinkle with chocolate chips; pressing them lightly into the dough.

4. Bake in preheated oven for 6-7 minutes. (Bake for 8-9 minutes for crispier cookies.) Cool for about 10 minutes. Cut with a serrated knife into 1-in. strips; remove to wire racks to cool completely.

 

Play-by-play

wet

The lovely wet ingredients. Doesn’t this look attractive? That’s what I love about baking though– you put something that looks vaguely like excrement into the oven and when you take it out it’s beautiful (and edible!)

glomp

The dry mixed in with the wet. Don’t worry, you’ll look better soon.

with bsc

So yes, I used butterscotch chips instead of peanut butter and I’d never actually had butterscotch chips before so when I tried it was like ‘Oh..ok hmm’ but the more cookies I ate the more I grew to love the flavour. Definitely an acquired taste though. So my advice is to go with peanut butter chips if you can. (I mean unless you love another kind of chip– you know what, use whatever chip you want! You’re the artiste!)

flats

Divided…and conquered by chocolate chips.  The original recipe says 1 cup but I only used like maybe 2/3 and you can I basically forced them into any available surface but still trying to not overload the sticks. So I’d recommend starting with 1/2 cup and then just adding if you need more.

baked

And they’re baked! Don’t they look scrumptious? Mmmm…but they’re still not done! Darn. (I mean, I suppose you could eat it just like that but we’re doing cookie STICKS here so yeah. Stickin’ with the program.)

allbaked

So delicious honestly. But some of the sticks were rather fragile so later, I cut them into small squares (for 1-pop-into-the-mouth eating!) Shall we take a sideways glance?

ooeygooey

Oh man. Gooey goodness, I tell you. Just look at that.

cookiesticksquares

They were made with being gifts in mind so here they are as squares and all decked out!

