Abstract No-Fuss Nail Art

If you look at my wardrobe, you’ll know I like special pieces– an eye-catching pattern, popping colours, a unique design– that are also comfortable. The same principle applies to my nails.

Ever since that monumental day when I painted my nails without the help of my mum, I’ve been trying to come up with beautiful and detailed designs (but not too detailed– after all, I don’t have that much time (to spend) on my hands!)

A few examples of past designs:

Of course, I don’t always have the inspiration (or motivation) (or time) for details, but even for this more plain look, I used a glitter polish to enhance the solid Mango shade (both Revlon)

My special ‘Canucks’ design…for that time they almost won the Stanley Cup. Probably the most detailed design I had ever done and required some painstaking, neck-straining nail pen work.

af4

What I have dubbed my ‘abstract floral’ look, and a predecessor to my current nail design

When I finally got my ARCT diploma, I let my nails grow long and gave them a light, simple design.

 

The irritating problem with nail art though, is that inevitably, the polish will chip. Your nails will grow. And suddenly, there is blank canvas peeking out from under the colour and undermining the pleasant aesthetic effect. I determined to find a solution.

And I think I just may have.

Allow me to introduce, ANNA, or Abstract No-Fuss Nail Art. It’s so simple, you don’t even need a tutorial.

Step 1: pick a colour of nail polish (I like to close my eyes and choose at random to further increase the anarchic nature of this “design”)

Step 2: put random dabs/streaks/dots/whatever on each nail. you could do 1 each. or more. or just switch it up. it’s all up to you!

Step 3: wait for it to dry (the beauty is that because you’ve applied so little polish, it takes very little time to dry!) and then repeat the steps until you’re satisfied :)

This is what I came up with:

Photo-0175

Of course, it started to chip, my nails grew…etc. Ruined? a resounding NO.

I simply chose more colours, added more dabs to fill in gaps, and….

20130918_135558(0)

20130918_135448

(these were taken with the Solarise effect)

…I got a whole new nail look!

So if you’re still wondering why you should go abstract, well:

  • easy
  • you can give all your polishes some nice TLC
  • chipping/nail growth doesn’t look so out of place
  • can be done as quickly or as slowly as you choose
  • looks amazing
  • did i mention how easy it is?
