[N]unbelievable Nutella Bars

crosssection

 

Prep time: 20-30 minutes

Bake time: 28-35 minutes (depending on your oven)

Makes 15 bars (more or less, depending on size)

(Recipe & play-by-play)

Recipe from Mississippi Kitchen

Ingredients

Crust:

1/2 cup butter, softened

1/4 cup sugar

1 cup all-purpose flour

1/8 teaspoon salt

Filling:

3 large eggs

1 cup sugar

1/2 cup Nutella

1/2 cup all-purpose flour

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. In a large bowl, combine crust ingredients on low to medium speed just until mixture is evenly mixed and moist.  (It will start clumping together.)
  3. Dump into an 8 x 8 inch baking pan that has been sprayed with non-stick cooking spray.  Press mixture onto bottom of pan in an even layer. (Use wet fingers if mixture sticks to skin.)  Prick 6-8 times with a fork, then bake for 15 minutes or until golden brown around edges.
  4. Meanwhile, beat the ingredients for the filling on medium speed until smooth.  When crust is done, pour mixture evenly over crust and bake for 15-20 minutes or until middle is puffed and just set.
  5. Cool completely on wire rack before cutting into bars.

play-by-play

crust

My “crust” didn’t really clump together– but when i pressed it with my hand it did, and that’s the important part.

crust pressed

Tamping the crust down was one of the most fun parts.  It baked beautifully and then it was time to pour the batter over top and put it back in the oven.

nuba1

I actually only baked it for 15 minutes because at that point I smelled something burning and when I took it out of the oven, the top was rather dark….but anyway, I let it cool…

nuba3

And actually, by the time it was cooled down, it had also gotten lighter!

bitten

And of course I had to try a piece right away. Doesn’t it look scrumptious?

So weirdly enough, even though it smelled burn-y at 15 minutes in the oven, I think it could have used an extra 5 because the filling at the centre of the cake pan wasn’t as solid as that near the pan sides.  My oven’s pretty strong, so I always reduce my bake time by a few minutes– it’s trial and error the first few times though.

Enjoy!

